The Son, The Son, and The Son: Scene 4 (Finale)

SCENE 4

Street Lights down, Apartment Lights up. “Three Pretenders, by Kansas, plays. CONWAY and ORSON stack the chairs, the desk, and the bed against the door as PEARL directs them with elaborate and graceful body motions. Once ORSON and CONWAY finish their job, PEARL silently congratulates each one. He gives CONWAY a cigarette, himself a cigarette, and ORSON twenty cigarettes. PEARL then takes a book from the floor to read and discuss it with the other two Jesuses. SABINA, KIM, and OLD WOMAN approach the door. SABINA unlocks it, pushes it to no avail. KIM helps to push. After a while, only KIM is still pushing. SABINA keeps OLD WOMAN from talking. The music ends when SABINA knocks on the door.

SABINA

Hello? I’d like to enter my apartment, please.

PEARL

You cannot instigate my friends anymore, unholy midget.

ORSON

Yeah! We make the rules!

PEARL

Our transcending intellects will not be chained to this earth by your corrupting feminine influence.

SABINA

Conway, it would help me a lot if you opened the door.

PEARL

This is not her first attempt to deceive you.

CONWAY

I’m sorry, mam. Real sorry. But Pearl’s right, you keep asking too many questions. He got us some food and cigarettes, and found this comic book we all like. You never let us find out what we have in common. Sure we have that one disagreement, but we get along fine if no one brings it up. If it’s any consolation, I don’t think you’re a midget.

OLD WOMAN

Adonijah? Adonijah, it’s momma. It’s momma. I come for you.

CONWAY

I think she means you, Pearl.

PEARL

How can I respond when I hear nothing?

CONWAY

She sounds-

ORSON

If he don’t hear it, then he don’t hear it.

CONWAY

All right. I guess I didn’t hear it either.

SABINA

Kim, I wouldn’t do that.

KIM

Call the police?

SABINA

Yeah, I kind of told them Conway was here as a joke, so I’ve been kinda-sorta-obstructing-of-the-justices.

KIM

So? These people need to go. What happened to no longer hiding?

SABINA

I know. It- Look, Pearl won’t face his mother so soon. Calm her down elsewhere. If I don’t join you in ten minutes, go ahead and call them.

KIM

This isn’t time-

SABINA

This is my choice. I clean my messes.

KIM

I hope you can. (To OLD WOMAN) C’mon, we can’t help here.

PEARL

Isn’t this an astounding masterstroke of symbolism.

SABINA

Pearl, she’s gone. I can see you through the keyhole.

PEARL

Now that the knight’s lance has failed to penetrate the giant’s side, it shatters into the wind, representing our knight’s foolishness in embodying an ideal through only relics of the past. It’s well visualized. You requested well, Orson, in recommending the graphic novel adaptation.

CONWAY

The Cervantes I knew wouldn’t draw him like that.

SABINA

You’ll get hungry, you three.

ORSON

What did you say it’s a symbolism of again?

SABINA

Isn’t it obvious?

PEARL

The lance is the knight’s ultimate weapon and mark. It creates and destroys worlds. It is the tool of the kingdom and the kingdom itself. It-

SABINA

And it’s his penis.

ORSON

You wash your mouth!

CONWAY

That’s not what the author means!

SABINA

It’s what Pearl means. Haven’t you listened to him? He’s always hardened by this or made soft by that or penetrating all of it. He sure “shook the vacuum cleaner” until all its junk “came out.” He’s obsessed with cocks. Why do you think he practically lives in the bathroom?

PEARL

I do not masturbate. Though I am required to trim a candle to cleanse myself of negative energies, willfully masturbating on my part would cause the earth to shake and tumble before I lost my godlike size. The reverberations in the cosmic stream-

SABINA

And so on. You’re not explaining as much as laying bricks between us, Adonijah. I’m not challenging your identity as Christ right now. I’m giving it to you straight. Christ is a symbol, and you are a man. No man can keep it up forever. Prove me wrong about you hiding from the world in 9 minutes, and I’ll leave. Otherwise, you come out.

PEARL

Time is a concept. Let us not concern ourselves with it.

SABINA

Deal. Now. No one else is here with me. It’s ok to discuss your mother.

ORSON

You go get her, Pearl!

PEARL

This is a duel, Orson. I do recall beating out the influence of the witch in my life.

SABINA

I’m going to ask you difficult questions. Can you promise me truthful answers?

PEARL

Knowledge is the truth. Jesus is knowledge.

SABINA

Then you know, Doctor, what “let me play Freud” means.

PEARL

As a child, my belly could stroke my spine, I was so thin. I scrambled for discarded milk cartons at school for nourishment. My mother spent all her time at church. Her time there kept me anchored to this earth. All my hard work, it only supported her lifestyle.

SABINA

You starved. Your mother was right, she prayed for you all the time.

PEARL

Every minute to relics.

SABINA

Aren’t those just symbols? They don’t make you hide.

PEARL

Symbolism connects our malleable selves to the cosmic stream. But the mind can be manipulated to center too shallow on a subject, resulting in the learning of wrong lessons. Such as loving relics over saviors.

SABINA

I don’t follow.

PEARL

I am a doctor. You are not, even with your feminine façade. You hate us, but cannot deny the superiority and manliness inherent in the person of Jesus Christ. Perhaps you are the one who hides from our godlike knowledge.

SABINA

This is about you.

PEARL

If you did ‘concern’ us, you would have surrendered us to the electronic duping of mental hospitals. Are you limp in your intent? Isn’t your ‘psychology’ just forcing us to clash like swords?

SABINA

You really think I’m not that good a psychologist?

CONWAY

I wouldn’t-

PEARL

Let her answer. The sharper the response, the better.

SABINA

(Laughs)

PEARL

Explain yourself.

SABINA

I’m worried about being judged by three paranoid schizophrenics! You know, not too long ago, I thought everyone else decides who you are. That they take one look at you and mold the rest of your personality around that glance. I thought that was the only way to define someone. So what do I think now? I think you’re all hypocritical, blind, and fascinating. You might not choose to be Jesus, but you chose to be yourselves. I can be like that too.

PEARL

You do have the capability to rise into knowledge, yes.

SABINA

And I know that talk only hides you for so long. You can only pretend for so long that you’re not hurting anyone. Like with you and your rampage.

PEARL

I do not recall such an event.

SABINA

I don’t care what you know. You ‘know’ you’re humble.

PEARL

I am greatest humble.

SABINA

So why is it bad if I don’t agree? Define yourself all you want, at least one belief needs social support. A humble person wouldn’t fear me entering.

PEARL

I’m defending my friends from your corruption. We have much more in common than your instigating techniques would let us solidify. We have some disagreements, but we don’t let them flatten us.

SABINA

I never stopped you from becoming friends, only forced you to stop hiding from the most important question of your life.

PEARL

That’s your belief.

CONWAY

Actually, she-

PEARL

Shut up! This is not a substantial deviation.

SABINA

Would the real Jesus dodge the question? Even if you want to ‘become knowledge,’ you still live on this Earth. Other people told you about Jesus first.

PEARL

You do not plunge deep enough for your answers to transcend the physical reality around you!

SABINA

Nice try. Why should we call you Jesus?

PEARL

Because I am the way to ultimate knowledge! Because my brain solidified, signifying the message of the Father! Because apparently my birth certificate does not satisfy you!

SABINA

Your body represents you?

PEARL

I will leave this body, and forever dive into the cosmic stream!

SABINA

Your body is just a symbol, then.

PEARL

Yes!

SABINA

A religious relic.

PEARL

Those are corruptions! For simple witches who refuse to ask why tastes can be seen, or why boys must starve. The witch thought she owned me! I broke free with these hands and smashed the shrines of evil! And she cried, oh, how they cry to see their Virgin Maries defiled. “What have you done,” she cried. She did not see the glass shards digging into my hands. I tell her “My identity was revealed eons ago. I am not your son.” “But I loved you! I prayed for you!” “You do not pray for me! I am your Savior! I no longer support you, because you worship me now! You worship me now!

SABINA

And then what?

PEARL

I departed that realm.

SABINA

You ran away.

PEARL

I- yes.

SABINA

From what I’ve seen, and what you’ve told me, she may be mentally imbalanced. But it must have been frightening, what you went through.

PEARL

It could be.

SABINA

Maybe it’s too late. For what it’s worth, I’m sorry for everything. You should control who you want to be. But other people don’t disappear with your memories. Your mother will keep looking for you. You’ll run out of food. Man cannot live on Christ alone.

PEARL

If that is what you choose to believe.

SABINA

To you as well. Kim?

KIM enters.

SABINA

Call them.

KIM

You mean it this time?

SABINA

You can’t trust me, so I’m trusting you. Call the police before I change my mind.

CONWAY

Pearl, I hope you don’t think this isn’t my business. But I forgave my parents before I went to the hospital. I have that power.

ORSON

Thought that was just me.

PEARL

I am aware of the extent of my ability, Conway. Thank you.

KIM

Hello, yes, three people have locked my girlfriend and I out of our apartment…

PEARL

You are sending us to the hospital.

SABINA

I’m to blame.

CONWAY

Did I displease you?

SABINA

No, this needed to happen. I’m sorry. I only study psychology, but I don’t think you could tell by how I treated you. If you want to ignore each other, or be friends, it’s ok.

CONWAY

We-

ORSON

Didn’t you hear her? She said she’s sorry. It’s over.

PEARL

Not yet. We shall stand tall in defense.

CONWAY

We don’t have anything to defend with.

PEARL

We have as much as anybody. We have ourselves.

KIM

This was a really big thing you did.

SABINA

I should’ve done it ages ago.

KIM

So now what?

SABINA

I won’t be jailed for long, if even that. I really should study more than experiment. Maybe I’ll become a psychologist so I can do this again and do it right. Help both other people and our bank accounts. It’ll be a fight, but I’ve got two people worth fighting for.

KIM

Empathy and self-confidence? Who are you, and can I speak to Sabina now?

SABINA

Hey, I’m serious. I know what I was like to you. The Jesuses defined themselves with no outside influence, and I defined myself too much by outside influence. I can’t change that memory. But do you know who I’ll be? Empathetic, authentic, robustomatic. Of all the people to be, I want to be like you. I love you. And I hope everybody heard that.

KIM and SABINA make out.

ORSON

Quit hoggin’ the view!

PEARL

I hope you two are satisfied on your shallow surface.

CONWAY

I don’t mean to upset anyone, but you’re doing a very bad thing.

ORSON

Them? Why?

PEARL

Science explains it. A magnet of a positive charge attracts a magnet of a negative charge. Therefore, homosexual activities are against nature. I have already encountered some justly punished, shortened homosexuals.

CONWAY

Spain legalized gay marriage a while back. Now I have to save them from themselves!

ORSON

So?

PEARL

So!

CONWAY

We must be fruitful and multiply! If the gayness spreads, then everything will collapse and the human race will die! Or worse, the human race will be gay!

ORSON

I’m all the humanity you’ll ever need!

CONWAY

You said you made everyone! If you won’t listen to me, listen to Pearl! You made him!

ORSON

He’s a nerd, I didn’t have anything to do with him.

“I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)” by The Proclaimers, begins playing.

PEARL

You are mistaken. I am all people, for I am the Lord. The best you can hope for is to embody the manliness of Jesus Christ inherent within yourself.

CONWAY

You’re Jesus? You never saved the world! You just lock yourself in the bathroom and masturbate!

PEARL

It’s called stroking the candle!

CONWAY

Well it’s not very Christ-like!

ORSON

He’s not Jesus, I am!

PEARL

You are nothing but constructs of volcanoes and stardust.

ORSON

I’m not just any star, I’m the sun!

PEARL

You hallowed-out God! Humans are born in volcanoes and think they create volcanoes. Only I, though the cosmic stream, am both created and creator. You envy my towering presence!

CONWAY

Speak for yourself, midget!

The three Jesuses fight. This continues as the lights fade out.

One thought on “The Son, The Son, and The Son: Scene 4 (Finale)

  1. Pingback: The Son, The Son, and The Son: Scene 3 (Part 2) | Word Salad Spinner

Leave a Reply

