Rejection #2

This happened a while ago, and it didn’t help an already crippling month.

Screen Shot 2016-12-21 at 8.48.54 AM.png

I suppose I get my hopes up for no reason each time I submit, but… dammit, everything went so right with this story for so long. I wrote “I Am A Mountain (y estoy hundiendo)” on a strict schedule after months of letting the tale marinate in my brain, just because it was a story I wanted to tell. I edited the work six weeks after I finished it, even though I doubted there would be a market for it. And, wouldn’t you know it, a submission call for an anthology appeared asking for diverse, unique superhero stories… just like the one I wrote! The stars aligned, and in the end they spelled out a heavenly message reading, “We like this story, but not LIKE like it,” a kind message that’s still as indefinite as the depths of space.

That was then. Here’s what I do to move forward.

My favorite movie of all time is “The Nightmare Before Christmas.” I’d love to discuss the characters, story, and relevance of this film at a later date, but I imagine you all have the same question on your minds: “Do you watch this movie on Halloween, or on Christmas?” My answer: I watch it whenever I get a rejection letter. More than just counterbalancing a low point in my life, watching this movie (and its climactic song) reminds me that failure does not define you, and that your dignity is essentially invincible. So the next time you get a rejection letter, use that stumbling block as an excuse to watch your favorite movie. Or, you could watch mine and sing along, from Jack’s mopey beginning to his triumphant end…

Leave a Reply

