30 Descriptions Towards A Better Image

Crutch01.jpg

Here’s a writing trick I learned a while ago, helpful for finding a creative way to describe an object. The technique take a fair bit of time and energy, so I wouldn’t recommend it for everything you describe in your novel; regardless, it should be helpful for introducing a key McGuffin or symbol.

Take an object you wish to bring to life in prose. Examine it, move it around and touch it if you can. Then, write down 30 descriptions for it.

 

The first 10 descriptions will be obvious. The last 5-10 descriptions will stretch like a child in an orchard, reaching for something substantial. In between those two sections of your completed list, however, you’ll have some unique insights and creative interpretations of your object. Again, only do this for the items in your story that are worth time and dedication.

Because I’m lazy, I’ll start by describing the first thing in arm’s reach: one of my crutches.

img_0348

Normally, I’d recommend the 30 Lines Practice for more complex items. But crutches tend to play an important role in stories, be it in plot or metaphor. I notice that my crutch has/is…

  1. Cold when touching the metal part
  2. Neutral heat when touching the crutch pad
  3. Set for 6’4” height
  4. 5 holes for hand grip adjustment area
  5. 9 holes for length adjustment area
  6. Dirt on the underside of crutch tip
  7. White scratches on any side
  8. Rubber crutch tip
  9. A twin crutch to go alongside it
  10. Removable crutch pad
  11. Removable crutch pad that keeps slipping off
  12. Metallic bolts
  13. Black scratches/bump marks
  14. Segments of the removable crutch pad peeling off
  15. A sterilized smell, but only up close
  16. A clicking sound when it makes contact with anything
  17. A wingnut to keep the hand grip in place
  18. Tiny white specks underneath the crutch pad
  19. A long sticker to mark heights for length adjustment area
  20. Clothing particles on the crutch pad
  21. A poor reflection of light
  22. An adjustable end end that partially covers one of the holes for length adjustment
  23. Hand grip that’s rough to the touch
  24. A wingnut with a bit of rust on it
  25. Weird dividers on the underside of the crutch pad
  26. Multicolored specks on the end of the crutch tip
  27. The weights of a newborn baby
  28. A sharp wingnut (at the ends)
  29. A weird reflective bolt on one side that looks like a glass eye)
  30. A uniform grey color

 

Not everything about this technique is as clear-cut as I described earlier… notice how only at the end I remembered to describe color. The point is, I had to work on and think about this object’s qualities. Let’s turn them into a paragraph about mortality.

 

Betty didn’t think it possible, but her faithful crutch was… well, it was peeling. It still featured a solid, uniform grey color, still smelt like a hospital up close. It had a crutch pad and handle grip and crutch tip, all in the right place. Yet the pad’s rubber strings began stripping off. The grip rested between white scratches and black scrapes. And underneath the tip hung dirt, and other, stranger, colorful particles. Even the height-marking sticker, on the adjustment area, detached at the ends. She noticed all this, because she had the time to notice it, and the will for little else.

 

Try this out on an object, and tell me the results!

6 thoughts on “30 Descriptions Towards A Better Image

  1. Greetings I am so thrilled I found your blog, I really found you by error, while I was browsing on Digg for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a fantastic post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to look over it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the superb job.|

    Like

  2. I must thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this website. I’m hoping to view the same high-grade content from you later on as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my very own website now ;)|

    Like

  3. Alishia Carridine

    whoah this weblog is wonderful i really like studying your posts. Keep up the great work! You recognize, many individuals are looking round for this information, you can help them greatly. |

    Like

Leave a Reply

