IT’S OUR TWO-YEAR ANNIVERSARY!!!

Unknown-1.jpeg

images.jpeg

images-1.jpeg

And what a year it has been! Not only did this blog draw in 3 times the views it did last year, but the quality of Word Salad Spinner’s content has improved by a few bounds at least, both in terms of what I talked about and how I talked about it. My yearly word count goal was once again 65,000 words, and this time… this time I probably wrote more than that, because roughly 51,000 of those words were original content (that is, not including previously completed works like short stories or Battle Royales)! Let’s look back at our…

 

BEST: It’d be easy to choose a popular post for this entry. And yes, that would include “On Writing With Depression: Suicide Attempt,” “The Top 15 Songs From Undertale,” “My Growing Story,” “Why People Defend Assaulters,” “Who Would Your Favorite Literary Character Vote For?” “The Best Countrymen I Know,” and the runaway audience favorite “A Review/Analysis of ‘Rogue One: A Star Wars Story.’” All pretty popular, all eligible to become Year’s Best. I’m going to say my best work this year was not a blog post, but a new category: Interviews. Whether it’s the formal and craft-based Q&A with Julie Hyzy, or the casual and personal discussion with Chitoka Webb, both interviews brought these authors to life for people who otherwise might not have met them. A perfect Sunday morning read. Also: I’ve alluded to this before, but I’d be remiss not to credit Dan Schneider’s Interviews as a major inspiration here. You should check him out, even if you disagree with his cynical and “objective” views, just to thank him for a great interview introduction question.

WORST: I tried to justify it. It’s an experiment, I said. It’s just esoteric, I said. But I know what exactly went wrong with “Canterbury Tales BATTLE ROYALE”. It could have been great… if I had taken the time to edit and refine it. Alas, I decided to just post the previous school assignment in its entirety, as a way to avoid doing actual work. I promise never to do something like that again (I’m not talking about posting old work if I’m too worn out… I imagine that will never go away. I’m talking about throwing things up without looking at them first).

MOST SURPRISING: I knew the “Rogue One” review would be popular. What I didn’t count on was it being my most viewed post of all time. Not only that, it’s the most viewed post so far in January 2017… a month after I published it. Either I did something amazing with that review, or I just suck the other 11 months of the year.

BIGGEST LESSON LEARNED: In times of trouble, take the Giles Corey route. The various illnesses, heartbreaks, and failures in my personal life threatened to snuff out my writing career once and for all. Yet here I am, writing like a fanatic and concluding my first week of daily updates. If life’s burdens are too heavy for you, then you look at what you’re passionate about and simply say “More Weight.”

WEIRDEST TIDBIT: The “Rogue One” review has so far received 1025 views… and 1 comment. I take back what I said early. I’m certainly doing something wrong.

 

PLANNED CHANGES TO THE BLOG

  • I included a section at the top called “Best of 2015.” If you want to introduce someone to Word Salad Spinner, this link is a good place to start!
  • My main goal for next year is to get 100 new comments from my blog posts (total, not each). I’m going to look towards the Internet for tips and tricks on how to accomplish that. But charity begins with your profile, of course!
  • … that’s it! For this month, at least, I’m going to spend a lot of time maintaining this blog, so if I make a change you’ll hear about it right away!

 

UPCOMING PROJECTS

  • The Rest of “I Am A Mountain (y estoy hundiendo)”! I might make some edits before plowing forward… and you might not see the story continue until after updates slow down… but I like this story, and I’m sure you will too!
  • More Reviews of Netflix’s “A Series of Unfortunate Events”! I’m not exactly binge-watching the show, but I like it enough to keep talking about it! Who knows, I may reread the books while I’m in the mood.
  • More Glimmer Train Reviews! And ideally some Glimmer Train submissions as well!
  • Interviews with My Trending Stories contributors! What’s it like to be an aspiring content producer in an environment packed with them? What’s the mytrendingstory.com community like? You’re going to find out, and you’re going to have a lot more reasons to visit that webpage in the future.
  • Yearly April Fool’s Day Updates! The Internet loves and hates these. Well, this April 1st, you’ll certainly see something to love and hate from me. I’ve wanted to do this for a long time, so I’ve got some good ideas stockpiled.
  • I might actually finish Let’s Get Cracked! Yeah, sure, and the Cubs will win… I mean, Leonardo will win… Britain will… huh. I guess nothing’s impossible nowadays.

 

Thank you to everyone who stopped by and made this man’s 2016 worth it! Here’s to another year of growth and fiction!

3 thoughts on “IT’S OUR TWO-YEAR ANNIVERSARY!!!

  1. Hello, yeah this piece of writing is in fact fastidious and I have learned lot of things from it concerning blogging. thanks.|

    Like

  2. Every weekend i used to go to see this site, for the reason that i want enjoyment, as this this web site conations in fact good funny information too.|

    Like

Leave a Reply

